Experimental Theme Mockup 2

My previous Experimental Theme Mockup has been found to look too “old school”. So I started playing again. What I’m aiming at in a few words: warm, inviting, Africa, modern, unique elements, brown, orange. I concentrated on the windows and just adapted the widgets. There are rough spots and I’m not satisfied with every detail. This is about trying various things🙂

The CC Attribution 2.0 licensed background picture is from kevinzim on flickr. I removed the vultures and carcass, though😉

Click on the thumbnails for the big ones (1280 x 1024)

Solid

With translucent windows:
Translucent

Related:
HD Icons
List View Columns
Scrollbars with Popups
Options (check boxes and radio buttons)

I’d like to hear what people like and don’t like about this. The more specific the better.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

3 Responses to Experimental Theme Mockup 2

  1. bennyp says:

    That is simply gorgeous!
    Try experimenting with the darker colour to see if you can get a better balance. You may just have a perfect balance here though, I’d have to use it to tell.

  2. thorwil says:

    bennyp: Thank you🙂
    I did tweak the colours quite a bit and would expect quite a bit of fine tuning would have to happen with an implementation, anyway (regarding having to use it to tell).

  3. porl says:

    sorry, i have to say i preferred your first one better😦

    i loved the old one’s taskbar especially, and the only thing i didn’t like in it was the close buttons in the window tops. i would definately use the theme if it took the taskbar’s look and extended it throughout. i think these ones remind me too much of old generated winamp skins for some reason.

    i prefer the background of this one though (though that is usually the first thing i change anyway), it brings the windows out clearer.

    i have always liked the way the ‘unfocused’ window decorations look on ubuntu’s human theme. i even made a custom theme once that made that the ‘focused’ default, and unfocused windows were darker or something (been a while). i think it looks *much* cleaner when the ‘window decorations’ look like a part of the window itself, not a frame stuck to the outside of it.

    anyways, those are my two cents🙂

    porl

