Login Circle

There are plans for a new login screen in Hardy Heron, using images to click on instead of having to type a username.

With my single account setup here, I would like to enter only my password and be done. If only it would be possible to ensure that no accounts share the same password, there would be no need for login-name entry/selection at all. But you can’t use a warning like: Hey, someone else is already using this password, choose another
It could still be an option for family computers.

Anyway, an idea popped up in my head. Admittedly playful, some might say silly, but I think the strong symbolism makes it interesting:
Login Circle

After clicking, the whole circle rotates such that the selected dot ends up on the right side. A password entry and an enter button appear.

The small white sketches show configurations from 1 to 5 accounts.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

Comments are closed.

