Face Maker

This Ubuntu blueprint isn’t approved and might be a leftover, but suddenly I had this idea for an application to create avatars/portraits in a photofit picture fashion.

A rough concept sketch:

Concept sketch

The central picture shows the current state. It has several zones for facial features. If the user clicks on a zone, variations are shown around the center for selection. Click-hold and releasing above the target like with pull-down menus should work, too.

This should make the interface very compact and avoids showing free floating facial features.

Previously:
Ubuntu Login Circle

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

3 Responses to Face Maker

  1. awalton says:

    also worth mentioning here would be memaker, a pythonic attempt at this very thing:
    https://launchpad.net/memaker

    I’ve been working on a more-or-less fork of it in C that uses Cairo to do a very simple layer composite. The main problem is finding artists to do elements for face creation, as the coding is the simple part. Please contact me or someone on the memaker project if you’re interested in contributing.

  2. MacSlow says:

    Hi thorwil!
    Please have a look at this spec here… https://wiki.ubuntu.com/HardyGdm I would like to see add MeMaker integrated into gnome-about-me. So the issue is something we’re aware of.

  3. skunkyjay says:

    Looks great! I wonder if we could combine our efforts… drop me a mail if your interest.

