Ubuntu Women

There was a request for a logo for Ubuntu Women.

I know some of them are rather hideous, but playing with this geometry is fun and I like to show a bit of my process sometimes🙂

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

9 Responses to Ubuntu Women

  1. jldugger says:

    My suggestion was along the lines of 1A but rotating 45 degrees in keeping with the design requirements. 3B in particular is in direct contradiction to requests.

    4 and 5 seem ripe for a pattern in the whitespace inside the circle of friends. I have no idea what though.

  2. jldugger says:

    Oh, and Troy James Sabotka also submitted a pretty nice logo, check the ubuntu-women mailing list.

  3. Dieter_be says:

    1C is the best imo.. but the cross could be a little smaller.. and you can still make persons out of the top left and top right corner😉 (athough i would keep the shapes of the persons the same as the normal logo, because they are symbols and not meant to physically resemble the top view of a person)

  4. thorwil says:

    Thanks for the comments. Found the thread in the Ubuntu Women mailing list archive:
    https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-women/2008-July/001630.html

    The image:

    And the latest:
    http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~troy-sobotka/+junk/ubuntu-women-identity/files

    Ouch, I should have checked that mailing list.

  5. Silvia says:

    I like both 2C and 2D, since they make me think of a girl with pigtails!

  6. badgerbag says:

    I do like C1 and D1. 4 and 5 are kind of annoying… you might as well redesign the regular logo to have a dick sticking out and leave us the plain logo. Heh!

  7. thorwil says:

    Heh, I already suspected that there’s no option besides the Venus symbol to not step on anyone’s toes. But it’s so stiff, I wanted to try, at least😉
    I don’t think the reaction on your blog is fair.

  8. Cube says:

    I think basically ANY would be acceptable, but to point out which are nice:
    1 is a great concept, i like 1C very much. 2 looks too much like graveyard, 3 does not have an easily distiguishable shape (e.g. compared to 1C/D, which have), and 4 and 5 are a big weird🙂 Although 4D isn’t that bad. But this was just the negative stuff, their all nice.

  9. Cube says:

    *they’re

