Ubuntu 8.10 Date

So as there’s apparent demand for a static image as alternative to the countdown banner:

Please copy the images, do not link them from here.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

14 Responses to Ubuntu 8.10 Date

  1. Peng says:

    Thanks! I’ll add it to my blog as soon as I finish watching last night Dodgers game. I owe yu a beer.πŸ™‚

  2. PirraDoZe says:

    thx. i will use on my blog

  3. Peng says:

    I created a post on my blog with not only the images but also code for posting the static image and link that will be on the Ubuntu Weblogs planet so hopefully we’ll get the news that these static images are available.

  4. Pingback: Cuenta regresiva para el lanzamiento de Ubuntu 8.10 « Zona Tux

  5. Pingback: KBU (Kagou Blog Ubuntu)

  6. ICEMANno1 says:

    great! I only suggest that the script gets a update because I need a smaller picture…
    At the moment I just copied the script and changed it to my needs…

  7. Alex says:

    Great looking banners. There is just one thing I would like to ask and you might know whom to address. It would be great that the same script tag could be used to always load the banner for the newest release. I had a banner for an older release and obviously it did not update. Another thing would be to keep the dimension of the banner the same. It changed between “0804 will be here shortly” and “0804 is here” and broke my layout.
    Thanks for the great work,
    Alex

  8. thorwil says:

    Alex: Thanks!

    I think it’s not intended or advisable to have such a banner up all the time. A 1 month countdown is more than enough, you don’t want to see people getting tired of these. If you have to remove the old and add the new months later, a changed script is hardly an issue.

    The size will stay as it is in the whole series.

  9. Alex says:

    > I think it’s not intended or advisable to have such a banner up all the time.

    What happend to the last countdown banner was, that after the release it changed into an ubuntu advertisement banner. Something along the lines of “Get ubuntu now”.
    And so it was comfortable for my site to countdown to new releases every half-year and after that to just advertise the product.
    I guess your right it is not too much work to change the banner every half year, but I rarely ever touch the layout of my site, because content is added via a tool.

  10. Iris says:

    Thanks! I really love the design. It mixes with blogs nicely.

  11. Iris says:

    Thanks! I really love the design. It mixes with blogs nicely.

    I’ve use the white design for my blog.πŸ˜€

  12. shirishag75 says:

    I’ve used your banner. I wish I could your banner given at http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/countdown but sadly cannot. Perhaps a static version of ‘Its here’ would be cool as well.

    Another one could be a countdown static image for 9.04 as well.

    Looking forward to your comment on the same.

  13. shirishag75 says:

    thorwill,
    thank you for getting back so quickly. Have done it. You can see the same on my blog. I do hope at sometime wordpress allows some form of animation.

    Looking forward to your static graphic on 9.04 as well.

    Btw nice blog.

