A Window for Wubi

The Wubi site has been sporting the heron known from Ubuntu 8.04. The lead developer Agostino Russo requested a replacement and I proposed an open window to a sunny African landscape. Hope I don’t have to explain that here๐Ÿ˜‰

The SVG source and a losless PNG can be found in the Launchpad Repository. Note that I edited the exported image in GIMP a bit.

I used a few images to test the concept and as reference. My thanks go out to the photographers for making their work available with permissive licenses:
mnadi / Mo Elnadi
Tjeerd Wiersma
Lollie-Pop
kevinzim / Kevin Walsh

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

3 Responses to A Window for Wubi

  1. Ryan says:

    I gotta suggest putting some animals out there. Ubuntu has a great and diverse community, whereas that African plain looks pretty sparse.

  2. ago says:

    Might be cool to change the image slightly at each release by adding a herd of “versioned animals”.

  3. Hylke says:

    I like it!๐Ÿ™‚

