Call for Collaboration: International Counting Track

I would like to create a piece of music with people from all around the world counting to the rhythm in various languages. Imagine an international crowd, all going “1, 2, 3, 4, 1 and 2 and 3 and 4″ in various languages, sometimes juts one, sometimes layered :)

To make this happen, I ask you to provide recordings of yourself and everyone else you might get to do it, saying:

  • One Two Three Four
  • One and Two and Three and Four and
  • Beat

in your native language (and any language where you are confident about your pronunciation).

With a tempo of 110 beats per minute (to be very clear, the “and” has to be between beats). Up to 4 repetitions, filling 4 bars would be nice.

If there are special ways of counting to the music in a language, use those and inform me about it :)

“Beat” should be translated to whatever could be said on each beat. In German it would be “Schlag”. A single occurrence is enough, I intend to use these as accents.

All files should be:

Additional samples with effects are ok, but it’s likely that I will not use them. Still, I want to collect and offer all usable material for download (it’s an open source project).

Please name them as follows:

  • firstname_lastname_language_count.wav for “One Two Three Fou”
  • firstname_lastname_language_count_and.wav for “One and Two …”
  • firstname_lastname_language_beat.wav for “Beat”

Please send links, not attachments to me, or post links in the comments. Consider using http://www.getdropbox.com/ if you have no other space.

My intention is to offer the result and the material on archive.org. I also want to submit a version to the
Ubuntu Free Culture Showcase

I can’t promise to use all contributions. I will sort out ones that sound suspiciously different from others claimed to be in the same language ;)
However, all serious contributors will be given credit.

I will collect files until the 15th of January!

Please spread the word!

Happy holidays!

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

Leave a Reply

