Ubuntu 10.04 Text Figures

There’s no free font available that matches the Ubuntu logotype. Both the Ubuntu Title and the Ubuntu Titling font are too geometric and lack the subtle handmade  feel. At least in the case of the Titling font, this was a conscious decision to avoid a childish look.

While having a clear contrast between ubuntu and the version number is an acceptable design choice, I prefer a solution that flows. For this, I chose to create text figures (x-height with ascenders and descenders instead of capital letter height) with the same stroke width for balance:

Edit: As of the announcement of the new visual identity for Ubuntu, this work is obsolete and I removed the wiki page I used to link here.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

2 Responses to Ubuntu 10.04 Text Figures

  1. I love Ubuntu. It is a great system, and has done more to beautify Linux and make it more user friendly than any other distro out there.

  2. Blogger Karo says:

    nice work🙂
    that’s very nice logo

