Ubuntu Honduras Logo

The Honduras Team is looking to change their logo to fit in with the new Ubuntu identity.

Their current 2 ideas both have the problem that logo needs to be rendered pretty large for the small details.

So I created a number of variations, all based on the flag of Honduras. Sadly there seems to be a wide range of blues and at least 2 different star layouts in use. Of course using a landmark or some kind of cultural reference might be more interesting.

This is unfiltered and rough, especially as I worked with a bitmap of the new Ubuntu logo, as there is still no final version available in vector format.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

14 Responses to Ubuntu Honduras Logo

  1. Arand says:

    Not being of any connection to ubuntu-hn (but I couldn’t resist commenting)…
    My favourites are 4 and 9
    4 because of it’s simplicity, of all the logos I think it simply looks the nicest in colour and shape, although it may be a bit generic.
    9 because of the the very recognizable connection to the flag, as far as “Ah, that logo must have something to do with Honduras” It is likely the best choice, the flag-shaped layout of the stars also seems to nicely indicate that it is a loco logo.
    6 and 7 are nice, but the CoF doesn’t really play well with the star shape as I see it.

    For keeping with the ubuntu brand style I definitely think that simply blue/white is the way to go (top one has a bit too much happening colour-wise in my eyes).

  2. nizarus says:

    where I can find the new font used in ubuntu title ? thx.

    • thorwil says:

      The font is still work in progress and it will take a while until we see a release, for all I know. Like I said, currently not even the Ubuntu logo-type is finalized, or at least there’s no official vector version available.

  3. Scott Todd says:

    Personally, I like the look of 3 & 8 best. But I agree with Arand about 9 better matching the flag. How would 9 look with 5 blue CoF’s in place of the stars? 🙂

  4. jorge says:

    Thanks for these mockups, it’s given me some ideas on what we’d like to do for ubuntu michigan.

  5. Dmitrijs Ledkovs says:

    Definatly 4. If you look at the ubuntu.com mockups you will see a lot of new symbols done in a generic round bubble shape. Looks very smart IMHO. Again not involved with your loco at all…. just passing by =)

  6. leogg says:

    definitely number 4
    great job!

  7. jussi says:

    You probably want to use the orange in there, as the blue is very kubuntu (unless thats what you are after).

    I personally like number 3 – perhaps orange circle with blue stars?

  8. Jonas says:

    Nice looking! I would go for another look, making sort of a “template” that every loco could use. Using the ubuntu logo (with orange icon) and writing “Honduras team” just under it, with a smaller text-size – preferrably with the ubuntu font (which is not finished yet?). Sort of like your old logo – but just more stylish.

    I’m afraid your suggestions could confuse some people between your loco-group and the ubuntu distribution, because they are so similar. The text “Honduras” somewhere should do the trick🙂

    Otherwise, nice work and best wishes on finding a great new logo!

    • thorwil says:

      Thanks!

      It is actually my intention to have “honduras” in there, but as the font is not ready, I simply left it out.

  9. Uri Shabtay says:

    i wanted to thank you personally for posting this question. it inspired me asking it in my LoCo (Israeli Team), and our LoCo contact posted it in the planet: http://ddorda.useopensource.net/archives/981
    change is good🙂

    thanks alot!

  10. parag says:

    definitely 4, 8 & 9 are better choices. out of them too 4 is the most appropriate.

  11. Brett says:

    #8 says Ubuntu + Honduras the best to me!

