Ubuntu Brainstorm Reloaded

I created the current Ubuntu Brainstorm Logo in 2008.

Time for an update, especially regarding the font. Here’s a set of design proposals. 1 to 9 and 10 to 18 are the same except for the font for brainstorm, first the Ubuntu font currently in beta, then a customized, thinner and oblique version of it:

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

20 Responses to Ubuntu Brainstorm Reloaded

  1. Personally I like 8 and 9 and 17 and 18 because it appears the folks are scratching their heads trying to come up with ideas. But I think the lightbulb ones convey the idea better that you had an idea. I think it might depend on how large the logo was in use.

    F’n excellent work.

  2. luab says:

    I prefer 5,6 and 8 and the italic equals😀 nice work

  3. YS says:

    I prefer 6 and 8, and 15 and 17 too. I dislike 1-4, 10-13 and 18.

    Good work! =)

  4. Siyan Panayotov says:

    Overall 1-9 are better (2 is my fav), I find the the italic somehow is disturbing.

  5. Dieki says:

    I like #1, and, to a lesser extent, #6. I strongly dislike the ones with italics in them.

  6. DoosC says:

    #11, without a doubt !
    Great job !

  7. Victor says:

    I like 13. Looks like a whirpool (asociated with storm and something attracting you into) and at the same time people scrathing heads. And this whirpool attracts inscriptions ‘ubuntu’ and ‘brainstorm’ inside. Having these inscriptions one in regular and the other in italic creates impression that this a whirpool attracting different things.

  8. Rafael says:

    #16 & #11 FTW!

  9. Michael says:

    I think numbers 1 or 6 are good choices, the red/orange circle of friends isn’t used that much anymore in Ubuntu, being replaced by a white circle in a purple outline, and it doesn’t repeat the brain concept like 5 and 14 do, and the light bulb is a solid color, not a fancy gradient that might not display well on older screens and limited color depth. Also the circle and font match with the rest of the project well.

  10. babycakes says:

    what for, i wonder? that website catalyzes energies that are invariably flushed away and wasted, or that nobody even reads, let alone implement. why don’t the big guys shut it down yet, and acknowledge that no change is even taken into consideration unless mark and a few others had already scheduled independently? that would be an act of honesty for the whole community. oh, by the way, you’re great at designing all these logos!

  11. thorwil says:

    Thanks for all the feedback!🙂

    It seems 6 is the clear favorite, followed by 8.

  12. leighman says:

    I think no. 2 is best!

  13. Nicolas says:

    Great job as usual!
    My vote goes for the #6!

  14. Aldo Nogueira says:

    Number 1, without a doubt.
    Clean, modern and visually compatible with current Ubuntu artwork

  15. Wolter Hellmund says:

    Of all your proposals, there are 3 that get my attention, which I will order below according to their appeal to me:
    – Number 2 – Its very simple, delivers the message, yet has a bit more life in the icon than Number 1.
    – Number 1
    – Number 5 – I just like that little brain icon. Its great.

  16. lotif says:

    #11 and #16 FTW! [2]

  17. Brett says:

    #3 is my favourite.

  18. Brett says:

    To be more specific, I like the logo in the middle and the font works well too, so I choose #1-4. I don’t like the thinness or italics of the others.

  19. TWB says:

    No 2.

    (Or No.7 with a bit more spacing between the name and the logo)

    Second choice No.1 or No.6 (any of the lightbulb versions over the ubuntu logo versions.)

    Personally i think the italic versions don’t look right..

  20. Paul Sladen says:

    Wow, hadn’t seen this before. Number (1) really works, with the rays of light from the bulb creating the word-space between the “ubuntu” and “brainstorm” words to keep it legible. It’s slightly above the base-line so doesn’t look it’s falling down; and with the horizontal rays it seems possible to get it to work without needing the “step-change” in height that the sub-brands normally need.

    Kudos!

