ITIS Linux

I have been asked to design a logo for ITIS Linux (Italian site). ITIS stands for Istituto Tecnico Industriale Statale (National Technical/Industrial Institute), a secondary school offering vocational training in areas such as system administration, software or electronics engineering. Students are between 15 to 19 years of age.

The target audience encompasses decision makers in education, teachers, but also students. Because of this, I decided to go for a rather restrained design, aiming for an impression of being a reliable partner, offering a solid platform (based on Ubuntu, btw).

I took inspiration from seals as found on certificates and architecture of modern educational facilities. The I and L in the symbol build the beams of a ladder. It stands for the climbing up of learning. The spokes also quite simply connect the I of ITIS to the L of Linux. The typography is build from scratch.

The dark red or maroon color is inspired by wax seals. It supports the necessary confidence of the logo, without being loud like a brighter tone might be.

To provide some assistance with making the most of the new logo, I created a palette based on it, also including the red and green of the flag of Italy. The green and blue tones should be used as accents only, if a need arises.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

One Response to ITIS Linux

  1. Vic says:

    Great logo!

