Spreadubuntu Header 2

Still on the quest for a good Translate icon. Thanks for the feedback on the previous set. I want to avoid glyphs or anything else that would seem like it refers to a specific language, country or region.

Also added an option for Get/Share, based on the logo (#1 is identical to those in the header mockup).

Sources can be found on Launchpad.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

8 Responses to Spreadubuntu Header 2

  1. sect2k says:

    I appreciate your work, but I would drop the icons from the header altogether, there is no meaning that those icons provide, that words don’t already convey, so they are basically just clutter. Also none of the official Ubuntu branded sites have icons in the header, as far as I know.

    • thorwil says:

      I’m actually skeptical about the use of icons myself. It’s not my decision and if there will be icons, they should better be good.

  2. Chris says:

    What about using negative space to denote a change in language? For instance, one language box could be full white with transparent lines, while the other would be just an outline with white lines?

  3. Quinn says:

    It might be considered regional, since it’s European in origin, but the first thing that occurs to me is some glyphs from the Voynich Manuscript ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voynich_manuscript ), because it’s clearly language-like while not being something anyone reads or speaks (and quite possibly not even a language at all)

    Or perhaps, if you want something completely devoid of real life semantics, a word bubble that inverts colors halfway through, angular squiggles on one side and rounded squiggles on the other.

  4. Kyle Clarke says:

    Maybe, taking the original icon there, that:s in the banner. Have a short, thick diagonal arrow between the two, and have lines of sorts on each of the two bubbles. keep the same style, colour etc of the origional however.

  5. Evan says:

    I definitely like the second iteration of the get and share. It is similar to the “broadcast” style on the logo. For translate, i’d maybe pick #1, but I still don’t quite know.

  6. Evan says:

    Thanks for the heads up. Already implemented.

    I kept the old order. I don’t understand your logic for rearranging it.
    To me, it is currently a left to right progression. The first thing people want to do, and most commonly want to do is Get. You probably don’t want to share a material until you make or translate it.

    I don’t recognize any logic in your ordering. Am I missing something?

    Is there anything aside from that that I missed?

    • thorwil says:

      i ordered them following the life-cycle: material has to be created first. assuming someone else does the translation, that happens after sharing.

      But it does make a lot of sense to place the most used Get, first.

