LibreOffice Logo

The LibreOffice project has a preliminary logo. The symbol aside, I see some issues with the type. The combination of the top of the 2nd f and the dot of the i is a little unfortunate. The b and r might work for body text, but not here. Setting Libre in bold only emphasises the unfortunate proportion of the 2 words (close to, but not quite the same width).

I don’t get the The Document Foundation tag-line. Usually you put something there that further describes the thing in question. Would have to be By the Document Foundation, then, but that’s not hot, either.

The current logo on top, followed by the name set in the same type (Vegur), without bold. My drafts below the line. I just had to play with the ffi ligature, but the connected-dot variant requires a thinning of the stroke that would be the wrong style if applied elsewhere.

Of course I thought a bit about the desired characteristics of the type, what it should express, ideally. LibreOffice is a very sophisticated piece of software and project. Suitable for use in business. There has to be a sense of reliability, precision, performance. It’s an open project, welcoming contributors, so I looked for wide and round shapes. The design should be contemporary (to not say modern), but not trendy (as in short-lived).

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

12 Responses to LibreOffice Logo

  1. Dmitrij Ledkov says:

    Awesome, Love it!

    What about the logo for the Document Foundation? Similar but in Green?

  2. Shane Fagan says:

    I like the one they have at the moment with the white

  3. leighman says:

    I also really like the one they have at the moment 😀

  4. Juanjo says:

    I like the one that they’re using atm. I like the colours and the font.

  5. Michel Gagnon says:

    What about keeping the 1st design, but replacing the tag line with either a short description of the product or one of the slogans? I think I like that last idea. Something like:
    LibreOffice
    Your documents, you’re in control
    (or whatever slogan we choose from the Slogan page).

    As a bonus, the tag line would be different from one language to another, highlighting the mutli-cultural aspect of LibreOffice.

  6. Noobody says:

    I see a simple fix in the kerning of the “ffi” letter sequence. Eliminate the dot in the “i” (both in “Libre” and “Office”). An alternative, whilst retaining the green (“Libre”) and black (“Office”) color scheme, is to kern tightly and let the dot of the second “i” overlap with the preceding “f”. However, we color the dot of the “i” in “Libre” black and the dot of the “i” in “Office” green (the reverse of the colors of the letters surrounding it)

  7. Brian says:

    I like your drafts, particularly the one with the ligatures. It’s about 20 years ahead of the current one they have.

  8. Jens says:

    While the logo they are currently using certainly has font issues, their choice of colors is IMO much more appealing than your pale-blue designs.

  9. lelamal says:

    I like the current logo and color choice, too (I don’t see a problem with the “ffi” cluster). Maybe Libre without bold, but still in green (after all, the green colour already highlights it properly). What makes the symbol peculiar, in my view, is the detached corner, which I would keep therefore. Maybe the corner in green, too, so as to match the same idea which follows in the words (contrast black/green). I made a quick mockup with GIMP (sorry, never made one) just to share my idea: http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/6327/libreoffice.png

  10. Rab says:

    +1 for the current logo in green / black / white.
    But the line “The Document Foundation” is unnecessary and should be dropped. Never seen a product logo where the maker stands out that much.

  11. Pingback: LibreOffice finalmente è dotato di un Logo « Crismon's Blog

  12. Regarding the “ffi” issue with the point of the “i”, check the solution that Telefónica used for their logo (avoiding indeed that “Telefónica” is written in three different ways depending if in Spanish, Portuguese or other languages because the accent: Telefónica, Telefônica, Telefonica.