Full Circle Magazine Logo

The current Full Circle Magazine Logo as used on the website:

I would like to offer an alternative, one that is in line with the new visual identity for Ubuntu and that avoids referencing specific derivatives, as that approach seems exclusionary and makes for one very busy logo.

My favored solution regarding the graphic part should be obvious :). 4 uses the new Ubuntu font, 5 and 6 a custom creation. The only difference between 5 and 6 is the placement of the subtitle. Finally, variations of the e I went through, shown for fun.

About thorwil
I'm a designer from Germany. My main interests are visual and interaction design, free/open-source software and (electronic) music.

18 Responses to Full Circle Magazine Logo

  1. I hope I’m not nitpicking, but the Full Circle Magazine being independent, are you actually allowed to use Ubuntu brandmarks?
    It wasn’t even allowed for official Ubuntu projects to modify the CoF, according to the guidelines, so I sincerely doubt how much you are allowed to change.

    • thorwil says:

      I have “modified” the CoF, or rather used similar geometry in several cases and nobody ever complained. Small changes could be a problem, but I don’t see obvious ones do an harm to the identity. It would be very sad if you couldn’t include references, couldn’t add to a graphical family this way.

      Maybe your asking for permission beforehand or your reading of the guidelines was the problem 😉

      • The latter. 😉

        Your logo does look different from the CoF, I’m not that much against it, but you should consider how much independence you would like your logo to display.

        It looks good, though. I do like the ideas.

  2. iheartubuntu says:

    I like the 1A logo , but try the chevrons in 3B instead of the straight lines of 1A. Might look interesting. And pair the logo with #4 text. 🙂 That would be my choice anyways.

  3. Andy says:

    I like 3A/3B logo the best, with the layout and font of 4. Just my thoughts, keep up the good work!

    • Brian says:

      Yep, same here.

    • Taran says:

      I agree; I like that the 3B logo retains the 3 ‘points’ of the CoF unlike 3A and I think the text is a must

  4. Bruno Girin says:

    My logo preference would go for 3B. As for text placement, #6 definitely looks wrong and I quite like #4 and #5.

  5. Mihai says:

    4 looks good.

  6. Ronnie says:

    The proposed logos look good, and we will be using the new font when it’s released in (I believe) August, so hopefully the new logo will be in issue #40 (27th August).

    I’m not 100% yet, but I think the current logo in white inside an orange circle would look best. That way we’re keeping up with the new Ubuntu look, but still keeping the logo that people recognise.

    Thanks for the time to draw up the proposals though, I really do appreciate it!

  7. Pingback: Nuevo Logo para Full Circle « Ubuntu Life

  8. #4 gets my vote too 🙂

  9. Akshat says:

    four!

  10. Pingback: Nuevo Logo para Full Circle | Ayuda Linux

  11. Miguel Angel Da Vila says:

    I vote for the 4 option, is good, it is simple and graphically represents the full circle idea with a twist which can be seen as movement or development, great. Moreover on tipography. In general the tipography part in the 5 and 6 variants are bad designs (naturally, the typo design is very complex and in this case is not afortunate), particulary the e variants or experiments are very bad.

  12. How about #4 with the three-sectioned logo part from #3? It seems more symmetrical, Ubuntu-ish, and attractive.

  13. Pingback: Full Circle Magazine Logo 2 « Thorwil's